Powerhouse Trio: Wilson Phillips

Wilson_Phillips_Debut.jpeg

Hello friends.  I feel the need to make a blog “part dos” tonight ha ha.  As you know I have a soft spot for 90’s female country and my ultimate idol Ms. Celine Dion.  However, another treasure of my late teen years was the enchanting debut album from the ladies of Wilson Phillips.

Chynna Phillips and sisters Carnie and Wendy Wilson composed this powerhouse pop trio.  They simply exploded onto the scene with their 1990 debut.  The single “Hold On” has become such a classic that even today it is used in films and media campaigns.

I know there’s pain / Why do you lock yourself up in these chains

No one can change your life except for you / Don’t ever let anyone step all over you.

Just open your heart and your mind

This spoke to me as I was adjusting to impending adulthood and accepting Christ fully.  It’s an inspiring anthem to believe in yourself and God and if you “hold on for one more day” that it will always get better.

“Release Me” has some of the best female harmonies I have ever heard.  I used to imagine myself as part of the group around a campfire just singing with them.

I look at this song as saying to Satan “Release Me”

Cause we want to be free / But somehow it’s just not that easy

Cause you’re a waste of time for me / I’ve tried to make you see

That baby you’ve just got to release me

Release Me from the grasp of Satan.  Hold On for one more day.  There is such a Christian undertone that I do not believe many of the mainstream listeners picked up on.  But I did.

“You’re In Love” might be my favorite song on the album.  It reminds me of a candlelit night perhaps on the beach. It features Chynna’s soft vocals and impressive harmonies from all of the ladies.  It’s a song about wishing an ex-love the best in the future.

You’re in Love / That’s the way it should be

Cause I want you to be happy

Such positive messages for young girls.  It certainly inspired me.

“Ooh You’re Gold” is my favorite album cut that wasn’t a single.  I absolutely sang this song loudly in my bedroom.  It has what I like to call a “boppy” beat and features Wendy’s unique vocals. It’s simply a treasure of pop music.

I have only touched upon a few tracks on this blockbuster album but I encourage anyone to give it a spin if you’re feeling nostalgic or looking to discover new musical treasures.

I am a very big fan of these ladies and only wish they would release new music soon!

Chynna was so impressive on “Dancing With The Stars” and all of the ladies are simply beautiful and sweet women of Jesus.

Share with your daughters!  Open their eyes to the impeccable pop of 1990 and the genius women of Wilson Phillips.

Love always friends and fans,

Jenn

xoxoxo

14 thoughts on “Powerhouse Trio: Wilson Phillips

  1. Omg. That explains a LOT. You’re an old fat white ‘lady’ who has been rejected by society. And now like a typical mentally ill person you’re taking it out on others to make yourself feel better! And you prob really liked a black guy and was rejected so you got more donuts – and more donuts- and more- and here you are- hiding behind a keyboard

    Liked by 2 people

      1. If that is your ‘true’ picture you are NOT a 110lbs.
        And I don’t get why you’re on this ‘white’ stuff when you’re not white?! I don’t care what you are but you are contradictory to yourself? And I get that your just a troll making waves to show what D.Trump is doing to this country. I assume anyway, or I hope, because it disgusts me that people actually do unfortunately think that way. That there is the inability to be objective to human feelings and rights and this feeling of superiority when in fact no one should be, we should be equal. It’s too bad you ‘muted’ me, I was just starting to have fun with your twistedness.

        Like

  2. Mrs, Mayers
    I completely agree with you. You are a truly unique and wonderful woman of God! I am in agreement with your every word and truly believe that you are a prophet. I have to apologize to you because I am a disgusting nigger! I had no choice in the matter, both of my parents are drug and alcohol dicted abominations! If I wasn’t so afraid of going to hell I would have ended my life long ago. Do you think that if I end my miserably life because I am a nigger, that God would forgive me? I hate everything that I am being born a nigger is the worst curse that any human being could experience! I have faith that you are truly doing God’s work, so please enlighten me as to what I must do? Sinfully the nigger

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Jennifer Mayers you are a completely insane person that needs repentance, Jesus, and possibly serious medication. I pray that there are no children being influenced by you and that you can find the help you need because if you are not mentally ill then you are a sinner being used by the devil(NOT GOD as you say) and you are going straight to Hell unless you repent and stop spreading lies about Christianity and the word of GOD. You spew lies and hate in the name of Jesus. I will pray for you and anyone that you have influenced, You can’t really argue with the fact that you don’t know the Bible very well and you are at best misguided in your opinions and beliefs when your own words speak for themselves. You might want to do yourself and all of us a favor and delete this ridiculous thing you call a blog before you realize all of the stupid and incorrect things that you have said. You need prayer and Jesus needs to shut you the hell up because you are spewing misinformation, taking the Bible out of context, picking the parts you like and changing them to fit your insanity. God help you.

    Like

  4. You are a truly sad person. I will pray for you. I would suggest you go back and re-learn your Christianity.

    Like

  5. Christ does not accept you; you are full of hatred. CheetoJesus does not accept you; you are low energy. Your posts are low energy, and low intelligence. Your misinterpretations of Christ’s words are not amusing.

    Like

  6. You do know that Wilson Phillips routinely headlines at gay pride festivals and concerts right? Given your penchant for hating homosexuals I would think you would research your “favorite” bands better. I swear, with every post you put I continue to hope this is some kind of satirical site, but we are not so fortunate.

    Like

  7. You adore the band, admire their lyrics and interpret them to your liking, yet, you seem oblivious to the fact these musicians are the offspring of the “kind” of people you speak so poorly about in your crap writings.
    You are such an embarrassment.
    May Dog be with you.

    Like

  8. “my ultimate idol Ms. Celine Dion”
    “Young children, keep yourselves from idols”. – The Apostle John in 1 John 5:21

    Like

  9. LOL. FUCK NO YOU CRAZY BITCH!
    you realize that you are Latina, right? that is NO different than those you vilify. Leslie Jones is a GODDESS. you? you are Satan/KKK/Hilter personified.

    Like

Leave a Reply

